Supervisor Debbie Drawe announces Town of Penfield receives Clean Energy Community designation
The Town of Penfield has received Clean Energy Community designation from the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA).

In 2021, the Town of Penfield formally began pursuing a Clean Energy Community designation. To achieve this, the Town completed several high-impact action items to save money, reduce energy usage and earn designation. The actions included:
  • Clean Fleets: Installation of two car charging stations at the Town Hall
  • Clean Fleets: Purchase of an Electric Vehicle for the Town’s Assessor’s Department
  • Community Campaigns: Clean Heating, Cooling, and Energy Efficiency
  • Community Campaigns: Electric Vehicles
  • Energy Code Enforcement Training
With the recent designation, the Town of Penfield has received two grants and approval for a third, totaling $15,000.

“We’re thrilled to receive this designation,” said Town Supervisor Debbie Drawe. “Not only are we fostering sustainable practices, but the designation also allows us to access grant funds which will benefit our community.”

For many years, The Town of Penfield has been a leader in sustainable initiatives being the first municipality in Monroe County to install electric vehicle charging stations, create an Energy and Environmental Advisory Committee, implement a Community Choice Aggregation (CCA) program, and the use of solar-generated electricity to help power the Town Hall, Community Center, and Department of Public Works.

Should you have questions about sustainability programs in the Town of Penfield, contact Town Sustainability Engineer, Sarah Waterman, at or (585) 340-8683.