The Town Clerk's office provides the issuance of various licenses and permits in accordance with New York State Law. Follow the links on this page for details on specific licenses.
In New York State, dogs are required by law to be licensed annually. Dogs that are four (4) months or older must be licensed. Local municipalities became responsible for licensing dogs on January 1, 2011. (Prior to 2011, New York State was responsible for sending dog license renewal notices, providing identification tags, and maintaining a state-wide database.)
The Town Clerk's Office issues dog licenses and identification tags for dogs owned by Penfield residents. There is no license application form, but copies of documents proving rabies vaccination and spay/neuter status are required to receive a license. Once a dog is licensed, the license and tag will be mailed to the owner.
If a dog owner does not renew a license in a timely manner or ignores renewal notifications, an appearance ticket from the Office of Animal Control will ultimately be issued, with the possibility of a fine. Residents must also notify the Town Clerk's Office if they no longer own the dog.
Dog licensing requirement, procedures, and fees Section 90-5 of the Town Law and Code
Help us keep our records up to date. Notify the Town Clerk’s Office of any changes to your dog’s status.
- Has the dog received an updated rabies vaccination?
- Has the dog been spayed or neutered?
- Has the owner turned 65 since the dog's last renewal?
- Has the owner (or dog) moved to a new home?
- Does the owner have a new phone number or email address?
- Is the dog deceased?
- Submit your update here
Renew your dog’s license
Dog licenses may be renewed online only if your dog's rabies information is current in the Town Clerk’s database.
- A convenience fee of $1.75 is added to each online renewal.
- Renew your dog’s license online: https://dogs.egov.basgov.com/Dogs/Search?munirecid=22
To license a dog in New York State and the Town of Penfield you need:
- A current certificate of rabies vaccination. If your dog’s rabies vaccination has expired since the last time you licensed your dog, or the rabies certificate expires within thirty (30) days of the license renewal period, you must provide a new certificate of rabies vaccination.
- A certificate of proof that your dog has been spayed or neutered if one is not already on file with the Town Clerk.
- Payment of fees to the Town of Penfield (see fees to determine the amount). Pay by cash, check, or credit card ($3.00 convenience fee).
Bring the above documents in person to the Town Clerk’s Office at the Penfield Town Hall or by mail: Penfield Town Clerk, 3100 Atlantic Avenue, Penfield, New York, 14526.
*If mailing, include fee payment by check, payable to the Town of Penfield
- Unspayed/Unneutered Dogs (includes state-mandated $3.00 surcharge) $20.00
- Spayed/Neutered Dogs (includes state-mandated $1.00 surcharge) $10.00
- Senior Owner* (65+ years of age) of a Spayed/Neutered dog $5.00
- Senior Owner* (65+ years of age) of an Unspayed/Unneutered dog $15.00
* Please note "Senior Citizen" on renewal
If a dog is licensed as a result of a dog "census/enumeration" conducted by the Town, there is an additional $5.00 fee mandated under New York State law.
If a dog is impounded, pick-up and boarding fees will apply.
All dogs four (4) months or older must have proof of rabies vaccination with date and type of vaccine (one or three years). If not vaccinated, provide a certificate from a licensed veterinarian stating why the dog’s life would be endangered by the vaccine.
Spay/neuter is not required but does reduce license cost. Present a certificate of proof from a licensed veterinarian at the time of licensing.
There is no fee for licensing guide dogs, hearing dogs, service dogs, war dogs, working search dogs, detection dogs, police work dogs, or therapy dogs; however, a license is still required. To obtain a no-fee license, provide satisfactory proof that the dog has been certified, trained, or licensed as a service animal.The ONLY exceptions are:
- Dogs under four (4) months of age not running at large; and
- Dogs belonging to non-residents visiting New York State for fewer than 30 days when the dog is licensed according to the licensing laws of the dog’s resident state
Fundraising organizations that intend to raise money by holding “Games of Chance,” or in some cases "Raffles," must apply for an identification number issued through the New York State Office of Racing and Wagering. If your organization needs an identification number, or the number has not been used within the last twelve months, you must update your information with Racing and Wagering.
New York State Office of Racing and Wagering
1 Watervliet Avenue Extension, Suite 2
Albany, New York 12206
Phone: (518) 453-8460
Fax : (518) 453-8492
It takes approximately four weeks to receive an identification number.
To conduct "Games of Chance" you must provide an application (Form GC-2) for each license. Forms are available at NYS Gamming Commission.
The head of the organization must sign the application(s), which must be notarized.
- A current list of working members and their date of birth must also be provided. To expedite processing, please only submit names of those that will be working at the events
- Gaming Laws require that there must be at least four (4) members in charge.
- Cost to obtain a license: $25.00
- Reports must be filed after the events. Information on this process can be obtained from the NYS Racing and Wagering website.
- Raffle tickets may be sold and drawings conducted on an authorized organization’s premises.
- Only persons eighteen years of age or older shall purchase raffle tickets, sell raffle tickets, or conduct or assist in the conduct of a raffle drawing.
- No sale of raffle tickets shall be made more than one hundred eighty days prior to the date scheduled for the occasion at which the raffle will be conducted.
- The winner of any raffle prize shall not be required to be present at the time such raffle drawing is conducted.
If you intend to operate a raffle in which the cumulative net proceeds for all raffles conducted during the calendar year will meet or exceed $30,000, please read Raffle Category 1.
If you intend to operate a raffle in which the cumulative net proceeds will meet or exceed $5,000 per drawing or $20,000 total in a calendar year but will not meet or exceed $30,000, refer to Raffle Category 2.
If you intend to operate a raffle in which the net proceeds derived from a single raffle will be less than $5,000 and the cumulative net proceeds for all raffles conducted during the calendar year will not meet or exceed $20,000, refer to Raffle Category 3.
License sales hours are M-F, 9 AM – 4 PMThe Town Clerk sells hunting and fishing licenses for residents and non-residents of New York State. The conservation license calendar year runs from September 1 to August 31. Before purchasing a hunting license, applicants must provide proof of hunter education and proof of residency. Fishing licenses are valid for one year from the date of purchase/activation. There is no education requirement to obtain a fishing license.
Deer Management Permits go on sale from August 1 to October 1 each year in the Town Clerk’s Office.
For further information please visit the DEC website
- A hunter education course is required for anyone who cannot show proof that they have ever possessed a hunting license
- Hunter education certificates and sporting licenses from all other states and countries are honored
- Hunters wishing to bow hunt must take an additional bowhunter education course
- Anyone 12 years of age or older must obtain a hunting license
- Hunters under the age of 16 must apply for a license in person, show their birth certificate, and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
- Anyone under the age of 16 may fish without a license in New York State
- Age 16 and older requires a fishing license
- Non-residents of New York State can purchase an individual non-resident license
The Town Clerk's Office is obligated by New York State Law to file all liquor license applications.
The Town Clerk can provide the applicant a 30-day grace period waiver to put a hold on the processing of a liquor license application. Waiver issuance is at the discretion of the Town Clerk only.
The Penfield Town Clerk’s Office is an issuing agent for marriage licenses for the New York State Department of Health. Applications for marriage licenses must be made in person—by appointment—with the Town Clerk’s office. To schedule an appointment please review the following details and requirements, then call 340-8628 when you have all the necessary documents.
After a marriage license is issued, it may be used in the state of New York after 24 hours and is valid for 60 days.
The fee* is $50.00 ($40.00 marriage license + $10.00 certified copy of license) payable by cash, check, or credit card. If paying by credit card, there is an additional bank fee. Make checks payable to “Town of Penfield.”
*New York State and the Town of Penfield waive the fee for marriage licenses and certificates for active-duty members of the armed forces.
To obtain a Marriage License in the Town of Penfield
Both applicants must:
- Be present
- Provide social security numbers
- Show proof of identity with current names (acceptable ID: A photo driver’s license, a DMV-issued photo non-driver’s I.D., a valid passport, an employee picture ID, original naturalization papers, or military photo I.D.)
- Provide proof of birth/age (acceptable ID: birth certificate* certificate of registration of birth cannot be used), baptismal certificate or elementary school transcript. If not in English, original documents AND original certified professional translation documents must be provided.)
* Residents born in Monroe County may obtain a birth certificate at the Monroe County Health Department, Bureau of Vital Statistics, 740 E. Henrietta Road, Rochester, New York 14623, (585) 753-5141.
REQUEST a Marriage Transcript and/or Certified Copy of a Marriage License Click here
In the Town of Penfield, marriage ceremonies are typically performed by clergy, a town justice, or the Town Marriage Officer (Town Clerk).
- Widowed applicants must present the Death Certificate of the deceased spouse.
- A divorced applicant must present a stamped final divorce decree showing the filing date.
- Applicants with multiple divorces must present stamped final divorce decrees for each divorce.